2009 Ignatz Award Winners List

Categories:  News

We’ll keep this one quick and dirty—after all, we are pulling the results off of our roommate Heidi McDonald’s Twitter feed (this time with fewer typos, god willing). I was at the Ignatz Awards last night, naturally, but I had a still camera in one hand and a video in the other, and until WordPress’s telekinesis liveblogging plug-in comes out of beta, frankly I’m not willing to take the risk.

Check out this year’s list of winners, after the jump. Congratulations to all. [Pictures and video to follow]

  • Outstanding New Talent: Colleen Frakes for Woman King.
  • Outstanding Online Comic: Cayetano Garza for Year of the Rat.
  • Outstanding Mini-Comic: by Lisa Hanawal for Stay Away From Other People
  • Outstanding Series: Jordan Crane for Uptight
  • Outstanding Story: Damian Jay for Willie
  • Outstanding Graphic Novel: Chris Ware for Acme Novelty Library 19
  • Outstanding Comic: Jordan Crane for Uptight 3
  • Outsanding Anthology: Kramer’s Ergot 7
  • Outstanding Artist: Nate Powell for Swallow Me Whole

8 Comments to “2009 Ignatz Award Winners List”

  1. michael | September 28th, 2009 at 12:48 am

    Thanks for this! This is so cool! We hardly ever get video coverage of the ‘smaller’ comic book shows. 🙂

  2. Pissed | October 15th, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    Bodyworld didn’t win for the best online comic!!!?? thats just insane!! Who was judging this? Dash Shaw not winning is an insult to online comics…

  3. THE BEAT » Blog Archive » 2009 Ignatz Award Winners
  4. The Daily Planet
  5. Fleen: Try Our Thick, Creamy Shakes » I’m Gonna Hold Some Of What I Got For Tomorrow
  6. Blogue Mundo Fantasma – Entrega dos Prémios Ignatz na SPX +
  7. Journalista – the news weblog of The Comics Journal » Blog Archive » Sept. 28, 2009: Take a drink
  8. The Daily Cross Hatch » The Cross Hatch Rehash: Pt. 2 [of 2]